Representative Higgins exemplifies the criteria set by Pete Myrick, a Guilford resident, who was a longtime educator and founder of PCEDC.  Criteria includes overall impact of the candidate’s accomplishments, the duration of the candidate’s engagement in community service activities, and the breadth of community involvement.

The Executive Committee of the PCEDC presents the Myrick Award each year to recognize a Piscataquis County citizen, business, or organization who exemplifies Pete Myrick’s concern for and commitment to education, economic development, and/or civic leadership in the region.  Myrick, A Guilford resident who died in 2002, was a longtime education in Guilford and a founder of PCEDC, serving as the Council’s president in 2001.

Board Chair Tom Goulette presents Representative Norm Higgins with his award.

“Pete Myrick and I worked 32 years together in SAD 4, both in the classroom and in administration. Our goal was improving educational opportunities for our students and adults throughout Piscataquis County. I can think of no honor I value more, than the Pete Myrick award.” Says Representative Higgins.

“Norm has been a tireless advocate for advancing economic development throughout our county; he is a collaborator and partner in advancing access to broadband, providing sensible solutions as it relates to affordable and renewable energy, and in advocating on our behalf on a Statewide level. We are pleased to name Norm as a recipient of the Warren “Pete” Myrick Award.” Christopher Winstead, Executive Director for PCEDC.

Source:  Piscataquis Observer

Posted on:   December 20, 2016

Categories:   Myrick Awards