The Myrick Award is awarded annually by the PCEDC Executive Committee. The award recognizes a Piscataquis County resident, business, or organization who exemplifies Pete Myrick’s concern for and commitment to education, economic development, and/or civic leadership in the region.  Myrick, a Guilford resident who died in 2002, was a longtime educator in Maine School Administrative District #4 and one of the founders of the PCEDC. He served as the Council’s president in 2001.

The award is not given to recognize anyone solely for job performance, but seeks to acknowledge those who go above and beyond in donating their time to community service.

Criteria to be considered in determining the award winner includes:

  • The overall impact of the candidate’s accomplishments.
  • The duration of the candidate’s engagement in community service activities.
  • The breadth of involvement in the community.

Past Awardees

2003: Owen Pratt, retired Dover-Foxcroft Town Manager

2004: Merlene Sanborn, Director of the Penquis Higher Education Center

2005: Roger Merchant of the Piscataquis County Cooperative Extension Service

2006: Edwin Treworgy, retired educator, long-term member of the MSAD#41 School Board, and member of the Three Rivers Kiwanis in Milo

2007: Tracy Michaud Stutzman, Executive Director of the Maine Crafts Association

2008: Sherry French, Community Volunteer, Office Manager for WDME Radio

2009: Rhonda Taylor, Maine Highlands Federal Credit Union

2010: John Simko, former Town Manager of Greenville and former President of PCEDC

2011: Thelma Regan, Executive Director, Piscataquis Valley Adult Education Cooperative

2012: Bob and Barbara Moore, Owners, Bob’s Sugar House, Community Volunteers

2013: Dennis Green, Former Selectman, Community Volunteer, Resident of Brownville

2014: Richard “Dick” Brown, CEO, Charlotte White Center

2015: Ralph “Eddie” Lewis, Dover-Foxcroft

2016: Representative Norman E. Higgins, Maine House of Representatives, Dover-Foxcroft

2017: Sue Mackey Andrews, Solutions Consulting Group, LLC- Dover-Foxcroft

2018: Tom and Nancy Harrigan, Harrigan Learning Center

2019: Tom Lizzotte, Former County Manager and PCEDC Board Member

2020: TOm GOulette, Former Guilford Town Manager and PCEDC Board Member