The Executive Committee of the Piscataquis County Economic Development Council (PCEDC) is seeking nominations for the annual Warren “Pete” Myrick Community Service Award, to be presented at the annual meeting of PCEDC on Dec. 6th (meeting invite and registration will be sent separately).

The Myrick Award recognizes a Piscataquis County resident, business or organization that exemplifies Pete Myrick’s concern for and commitment to education, economic development and/or civic leadership in the region. Myrick, a Guilford resident who died in 2002, was a longtime educator in MSAD #4 and one of the founders of the PCEDC, serving as the Council’s president in 2001.

View the previous Myrick Award recipients here.


Criteria to be considered in determining the award winner will include the overall impact of the candidate’s accomplishments, the duration of the candidate’s engagement in community service activities, and the breadth of involvement in the community. The award is not given to recognize anyone solely for job performance but seeks to acknowledge those who go above and beyond in donating their time to community service. Criteria for nomination directly tie to education, economic development, and/or civic leadership.

Nominations must be received by November 19, 2021.