DOVER-FOXCROFT — The Executive Committee of the Piscataquis County Economic Development Council (PCEDC) has named Tom and Nancy Harrigan of Milo as the 16th recipients of the Warren “Pete” Myrick Award.

Photos courtesy of Jeff Kirlin, The Thing of the Moment.

Both Tom and Nancy Harrigan exemplify the criteria set by Pete Myrick, a Guilford resident, who was a longtime educator and founder of PCEDC. Criteria includes overall impact of the candidate’s accomplishments, the duration of the candidate’s engagement in community service activities, and the breadth of community involvement.

The Executive Committee of the PCEEDC presents the Myrick Award each year to recognize a Piscataquis County citizen, business, or organization who exemplifies Myrick’s concern for and commitment to education, economic development, and/or civic leadership in the region. Myrick, who passed away in 2002, was a longtime education in Guilford and a founder of PCEDC, serving as the council’s president in 2001.

“Tom and Nancy Harrigan invest time, personal resources, and their passion both in Milo and throughout our region,” said PCEDC Executive Director Christopher Winstead. “The construction of the Three Rivers Kiwanis Building, the Harrigan Learning Center, and the Milo-Brownville & Points North Visitor enter, demonstrate their passion for seeing local communities prosper. Tom and Nancy exemplify the Myrick Award trifecta; a commitment to education, economic development, and civic leadership.”

Source:  Piscataquis Observer

Posted on:   December 15, 2018

Categories:   Myrick Awards